crisis information

2020 Mental Health Champion Awards Announced

Rachael Haas, Director of Wellness & Marketing

January 26th, 2021

MHA in the News

2020 Mental Health Champion Awards Announced

Tuesday, January 26, 2021, Mental Health America in Sheboygan County held their annual meeting. Adapting to the pandemic, the meeting was held virtually which ultimately proved to be a silver lining as more community leaders were able to attend. The meeting was an opportunity to learn about what MHA does in the community as well as celebrate workplaces, volunteers, partner organizations, and individuals who demonstrate exceptional leadership in promoting mental health and wellness in Sheboygan County.

MHA Mental Health Champion awards are given every year to workplaces who contribute to creating a mentally healthy workplace for their employees, partner organizations who provide excellent public service to community members experiencing poor mental health, and individuals and volunteers who, through personal commitment, have increased awareness about mental health or reduced stigma in their community.

Sargento a small

The 2020 MHA Mental Health Champion: Workplace award went to Sargento. Providing mental health screenings and resources for employees, investing in suicide awareness and prevention training for key staff, as well as developing an emotional/mental health and wellbeing strategy for general and COVID-19 related topics for employees were just a few of their standout initiatives. Sargento employees were the most represented company at MHA events throughout 2020.

BBBS small

The award for MHA Mental Health Champion: Partner Organization went to non-profit Big Brothers Big Sisters Sheboygan County. Their organization went above and beyond in creating a culture of mental wellness within their structure for staff, Board of Directors, Volunteers, and their “Bigs” and “Littles”. Breaking down stigma within their programming, as well as providing an inclusive equity-based philosophy to support the overall well-being for all youth, makes BBBS a significant contributor to positive mental health in our community.

Deenice Warner small

The 2020 MHA Mental Health Champion: Individual award went to Deenice Warner. Deenice has gone above and beyond making sure the discussion of suicide awareness is at the forefront. In addition, she has made a space for love and compassion around grief with the loss of her daughter and father within her community and beyond. Most of all, she has taken an active role in seeking change around mental health so others do not experience the loss her family has endured.

John Scholke small

The award for MHA Mental Health Champion: Volunteer went to John Scholke. Through three decades of involvement with MHA, John has been a board member, Board President, Committee Chair, and There is Hope Annual Walk for Suicide Awareness and Prevention Volunteer. What makes John special is not only his career as a civil servant with the Sheriff’s Department, but his continued commitment to serve his community with heart, compassion, and empathy towards those in need.

MHA’s vision of creating a healthy, compassionate, trauma-informed, and resilient community cannot happen without the tremendous work of these incredible organizations and individuals. Congratulations and thank you for being mental health champions in Sheboygan County!

Share this post:

Facebook Twitter LinkedIn Pinterest Email